Shenmue Wiki

(Modding and other series related projects)

Shenmue Wiki

Postby denile » Sun Jul 05, 2015 10:19 am

I really love the Shenmue Wiki:

http://shenmue.wikia.com/wiki/Shenmue_Wiki

I've been reading some entries in preparation for the next installment of Shenmue and I came across the entry for Yuan:

"Yuan (ユアン) (born April 4th, 1962) is Dou Niu's right-hand man who is an high-ranking executive of the Yellow Head gang, that operates in Kowloon. Yuan is a cross-dresser that has a relationship with Dou Niu. He often blackmails Kowloon's shopkeepers, as they are all afraid of him and Dou Niu"

I am no expert but does it strike anybody that this seems kind of transphobic? Is this the same kind of language used in the game or official literature? Do we know if Yuan is supposed to identify as a man or woman and if s/he identifies as a woman then surely Shenmue should use feminine pronouns etc. Isn't transvestite a term used for a festish as opposed to gender identification?
denile
Master of the Three Blades

Re: Shenmue Wiki

Postby NeoShredder » Sun Jul 05, 2015 10:32 am

In the Japanese version of the game, Yuan is a man "cross-dressing" as a woman, and voiced by a man and is referred to by male pronouns by other characters. In the western releases, she's portrayed and voiced by a woman and refered to by female pronouns. That's part of the confusion here.

Suffice to say, the original character is a man who dresses as a woman. If its any consolation, I don't think Triad culture in 1980's Hong Kong was very politically correct.
NeoShredder
Machine Gun Fist
Machine Gun Fist

PSN: NeoShredder5
Favorite title: Shenmue II

Postby denile » Sun Jul 05, 2015 10:40 am

Ha! Yes, I doubt that 1980's Hong Kong was big on PC language and it's realistic for in-game characters to refer to Yuan as male.