Can you replace the textures with higher resolution one?

(Modding and other series related projects)

Can you replace the textures with higher resolution one?

Postby asdfguy » Thu Mar 17, 2016 9:38 pm

I'm new to modding. I know you can replace the textures in shenmue. I was wondering if it is possible to replace the with high resolution ones? Like if a texture is 256x256 pixels can I replace it with a 512x512 pixels?
asdfguy
Asia Travel Representative
Asia Travel Representative

Re: Can you replace the textures with higher resolution one?

Postby shengoro86 » Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:22 pm

Welcome to the modding scene!

Let me contact someone who can answer this.

From what I have seen, you can NOT make PVR replacements that are larger than the original, but I am not sure about the MT5/MT7 containers.
shengoro86
Admin - Shenmue500K
Shenmue 500K Staff

PSN: Shengoro86
XBL: Rock Is Sponge
Favorite title: Shenmue IIx
Currently playing: Shenmue III (PC)

Postby Fenix » Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:26 pm

shengoro86 wrote: Welcome to the modding scene!

From what I have seen, you can NOT make PVR replacements that are larger than the original, but I am not sure about the MT5/MT7 containers.

Interesting. Normally you can't do that because the hex value changes but some softwares let you keep the original value and make the replacement posible. I used to do that to change textures in the game "Dragon Ball Online".
Fenix
"After Burner...Great!"
"After Burner...Great!"

Favorite title: Shenmue II
Currently playing: 3D Studio Max

Postby shengoro86 » Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:36 pm

Fenix wrote:
shengoro86 wrote: Welcome to the modding scene!

Interesting. Normally you can't do that because the hex value changes but some softwares let you keep the original value and make the replacement posible. I used to do that to change textures in the game "Dragon Ball Online".

I recall speaking to Ilducci about this. I reached out to him for clarification.