What is the closest Jujitsu style closest to Ryo's?

(Chapter 1 | General Series Discussion)

What is the closest Jujitsu style closest to Ryo's?

Postby Himuro » Mon Mar 16, 2015 1:27 pm

Shenmue brought an expectation for me that jujitsu had a lot of strikes on top of the throw oriented combat. Looking at jujitsu displays, that's not the case. It's mostly about throwing and grabs. I would like strikes too, but no jujitsu school I've found has an large number of strikes. In fact, I think jujitsu - and further, other japanese martial arts - just don't look appealing, which is surprising because the fighting style Ryo uses really appeals to me. I realize it's a game, but I was really interesting in doing something similar.
Himuro
Banned
Banned

Re: What is the closest Jujitsu style closest to Ryo's?

Postby south carmain » Mon Mar 16, 2015 1:29 pm

I think the hazuki style mixes multiple disciplines. I'm no expert but it seems like it has a bit of everything.
south carmain
Comrade of the motherland
"Keep Friends"

Favorite title: Shenmue IIx
Currently playing: okami hd

Postby AM2 » Mon Mar 16, 2015 6:12 pm

south carmain wrote: I think the hazuki style mixes multiple disciplines. I'm no expert but it seems like it has a bit of everything.

Similar to Jeet Kune Do.
AM2
Funny Bear Burger Clerk
Funny Bear Burger Clerk

Favorite title: Shenmue
Currently playing: Life

Postby Axm » Mon Mar 16, 2015 7:46 pm

Hazuki style seems to be a mix of Karate and Jiu Jitsu. Even Ryo refers to Hazuki Style as Karate in Shenmue 1 (with nozomi) but then as Jiu Jitsu in Shenmue 2. (with Jian Min)

Seems like you should go for Karate imo
As it prioritizes strikes first then grappling.
Ive been thinking about it too myself actually.
Axm
#SaveShenmueHD
News Poster

Postby MiTT3NZ » Mon Mar 16, 2015 8:34 pm