Need some ripping advice

(Modding and other series related projects)

Need some ripping advice

Postby R.Y.O » Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:34 am

Hi,

first i want to say thank you for the great video tutorials by dotsona.

I have a few problems because i am a total 3ds noob. almost all models i have ripped are damaged. Mostly the backside. do i something wrong ?

i fallowed braindead the video tutorial and ripped only from shenmue 2.

Jianmins back is also damaged.

Before rendering some models have holes, most of them are gone after rendering.

And 2 other questions:

1. When i want to render a Model it shows a massage about missing files, but the rendering works anyway. What is that about ?

2. How do i save a Model ? I tried to export in .3ds format but the textures where missing. What do i have to put in a zip file when i want to upload a model here ?

Thanks for your help and sorry for my not so great english.

PS: Its great to see that the shenmue community is still alive. Keep up the good work.

:) :) :)
R.Y.O
Asia Travel Representative

Postby dotsona » Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:21 am

Hey RYO, welcome to the forums.

It looks like you still need to weld the verts on your models, If you watch the 4th video tutorial it covers how to do that. If you did do that you might have missed some spots so I would try it again. The missing files problem is probably because you forgot to copy and paste the files that are in your 3d ripper dx folder into a new folder. You want to move those files somewhere else so nothing gets deleted or overwritten on accident. Lastly, you cant export into .3ds because the textures wont go with the model. You will have to convert the textures into pngs and save it out as a obj (which I havent done but have seen others do that)
dotsona
Man Mo Acolyte
Man Mo Acolyte

Favorite title: What's Shenmue
Currently playing: Shenmue Mods

Postby R.Y.O » Thu Jan 07, 2010 3:47 pm